RSS

Recommended (?) Reading About the US National Tragedy

10 Nov

I may out myself as some kind of masochist by doing this, but ever since the election went how it did, I’ve been unable to stop myself reading about it everywhere. So here are a bunch of things I thought were worth reading (feel free to share more in the comments as well).

In no particular order:

Yemisi Ilesanmi: Donald Trump’s America: A Win for Sexism, Racism, and Misogyny

Mano Singham: The revolution was televised after all, Let the Post-Mortems Begin

Dana Hunter: You Wanted to Know How Fascism Wins? Look in the Mirror , Regrouping

Alyssa Gonzalez: Compañero, We’re Done

Hank Fox: Well… Wow.

Kathleen Johnson: The King of America and the Killing of Hope

Martin Hughes: How to Grieve Trump: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance

Iris at Perry Street Palace: no title

Amy Roth: I Didn’t Vote For Him

Melissa McEwan: This Is Why We Supported Her, We Will Be Light

Peter Daou: News Media rush to whitewash their role in savaging Clinton’s character , More Americans voted for Hillary’s values than Trump’s

Matthew Facciani: Trump’s America is Already Terrifying

Peter Beinart: After Trump, a Call for Political Correctness From the Right

Joshua Benton: The forces that drove this election’s media failure are likely to get worse

Amanda Marcotte: The Misogyny Apocalypse

PZ Myers: What happened?

I’m sure there’s more, I’ve definitely read a lot more things but these were the ones I saved up to post. Feel free to link more below. I don’t know, let’s wallow in despair or something. What am I even supposed to say?

(Edit: 11/12/16) Here are some more things to read.

Kaveh Mousavi: The US Has Elected its Ahmadinejad

John Scalzi: The Cinemax Theory of Racism

Martin Hughes: Don’t Tell Us to Hug the Smirking Deplorables

And here is a Change.org Petition to ask the electors of the Electoral College to be “faithless” and elect Hillary Clinton in agreement with the popular vote. It’s already at over 3.3 million signatures, though it could do with a lot more. I have signed it. While I understand if people are uncomfortable with this sort of thing – and if successful, probably would lead to some problems with Trump supporters shouting about “rigged elections” among other things – this is technically permitted by the system and, frankly, things are desperate. I don’t know if it will do any good, but please consider signing if you are comfortable with it.

(Edit: 11/14/16) In case you may not have seen them, I have been posting more links in the comments, and will no doubt continue to do so.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2016 in mitchell

 

Tags: , , , ,

22 responses to “Recommended (?) Reading About the US National Tragedy

  1. janach

    November 11, 2016 at 3:52 am

    At the Washington State Democrats’ election night party in Seattle Tuesday night, I was talking with a woman considerably younger than me, and mentioned the 2000 election, and the disaster that was George W. Bush. She said that Donald Trump is worse than Bush, and I didn’t argue with her. Thinking about it since, I have concluded that they are probably equally stupid and equally bigoted, but Trump is louder, cruder, and more aggressive. The real reason this is so much worse than 2000 is that we are sixteen years closer to environmental catastrophe. We don’t have four (or eight) more years to waste on the usual right-wing idiocy. We’re fried, my friends. Fried.

    By the way, a number of people at that party were taking photos of me in my denim witch’s hat festooned with campaign buttons, so I’ll probably be on the web somewhere. Watch for a short middle-aged lady sitting on a walker and wearing a pointy hat: that’s me!

     
    • Loten

      November 11, 2016 at 8:01 am

      I want a hat like that, it sounds awesome.

       
    • mcbender

      November 11, 2016 at 9:16 am

      I’ve seen a lot of people waxing nostalgic over Bush in comparison, which is a good way of putting things in perspective. I think Bush, awful as he was, at least took the job seriously and knew how politics works. If that’s the nicest thing I can manage to say about him, that’s not saying much, but it’s still a lot better than I can manage to say about Trump.

      And yes, the environmental thing is sobering, when we’re seeing reports Trump intends to put a well-known climate change denier in charge of the EPA. As you say, we’ve dawdled too long already and we can’t afford to waste four or eight years.

      The best we can hope for now is that he gets overwhelmed by the fact there are actual expectations of him (which there have apparently already been signs of) and doesn’t manage to accomplish much. But in view of all of the violent bullying that we’re already seeing, that may not even matter; his supporters in their victory are terrifying.

       
  2. Coccinelle écolo

    November 11, 2016 at 4:38 am

    This article is the best I’ve read so far, but I still haven’t read any of yours.

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/nov/09/rise-of-the-davos-class-sealed-americas-fate

    By the way, I don’t think it’s masochistic, we need to understand before we can reach acceptance. It’s even a good thing to try and learn from our mistakes.

     
    • mcbender

      November 11, 2016 at 9:21 am

      I’ve read a lot of articles along those lines, and I suppose there may be something to it, but there is also this (should probably add this to the main post but I’ve already added things by surreptitious edit once and don’t want to get in the habit).

      http://www.shakesville.com/2016/11/if-your-election-postmortem-ignores.html

      I think it’s a mistake to focus solely on the economic/class aspects of this, because I honestly do think this election was about racism and sexism. There is a link there – a certain kind of white man does tend to believe any economic hardship he experiences is the fault of women and ethnic minorities – but it doesn’t do to ignore either of them. All available statistics showed that Trump supporters trend wealthier than Clinton supporters did, for instance (though as we know by Trump’s example, apparently wealth is whatever you think it is and can change from day to day depending on your feelings, so maybe that doesn’t matter).

       
  3. mcbender

    November 12, 2016 at 8:37 am

    I have added some more links to the end of this post, including a petition by change.org that I strongly encourage any American readers I may have to consider signing.

     
  4. Nell

    November 18, 2016 at 10:44 pm

    Considering how he treated the people of Aberdeen (Scotland) in order to get his bloody golf course built, (and our government rolling over to let him do what he wanted as long as he put money into the area) I dread to think how he will treat US citizens. It’s horrific,

     
  5. mcbender

    November 21, 2016 at 10:09 am

    Okay, let’s have a bit more linkspam (need to clean out my browser tabs, I’ve been holding onto these for a day or two).

    Firstly, some updates from Daniel Breezenoff, the guy behind the Electoral College petition that’s now passed 4.5 million signatures. Please consider signing and promoting this if you haven’t already; it’s a slim hope but it’s a hell of a lot better than nothing.
    View story at Medium.com
    View story at Medium.com

    I found this headline quite telling:
    https://thinkprogress.org/trump-poised-to-violate-constitution-his-first-day-in-office-george-w-bushs-ethics-lawyer-says-73e14789a935#.5gig2mkys

    And now for the usual instalment of random pieces I thought were worth reading.

    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/accordingtomatthew/2016/11/trumps-pick-for-attorney-general-says-grabbing-a-woman-by-her-genitals-is-not-sexual-assault/

    http://freethoughtblogs.com/affinity/2016/11/19/have-fun-but-dont-get-lost-in-distraction/

    http://freethoughtblogs.com/pharyngula/2016/11/20/were-doomed/

    View story at Medium.com

    View story at Medium.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
