RSS

RIP Sir Terry Pratchett

12 Mar

The world lost a giant of an author this afternoon. Knight, writer, artist, journalist, philosopher, all around good man. He campaigned on behalf of a lot of charities, including the Alzheimer’s Association and the Orangutan Foundation, and always had a lot of time for his fans in a way very few authors do. His books, particularly the Discworld series, have been a huge part of my life since before I hit double digits and helped to make sense of the world. And to make fun of it, too.

If you own any of his books, start re-reading them, preferably in the company of a cat and a good drink.

If you don’t, then get thee to a library or a bookstore and start reading.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2015 in loten

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “RIP Sir Terry Pratchett

  1. mcbender

    March 12, 2015 at 7:41 pm

    I’m not as familiar with him as Loten is, unfortunately, but by all accounts and in my experience Sir Terry was an excellent person and the world is the poorer for his loss. My condolences to his friends and family, and to everyone who loves his writing. At least, for the man himself, he isn’t suffering any longer.

    I’ve been putting off reading most of his work, in part because I think my depression interferes with my experiencing their humour the way I ought, but I may have to stop doing so now.

     
  2. Derived Absurdity

    March 12, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    This sucks.

     
  3. Aby Ceedle

    March 12, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    I discovered his work only five years ago, but read a good part of it since then, unsurprisingly, with great pleasure… Through his books, he taught me to see life differently, with humor, but critically and it really helped me at times. The world did not only lost a brilliant mind, but also an amazing and kind man…

     
  4. DawnM

    March 13, 2015 at 12:25 am

    I love Good Omens – I reread it often. Sad he had to go so soon.

     
  5. All-I-need

    March 13, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    On the wall in my study at home there is a quote:
    “Imagination, not intelligence, made us human.” – Terry Pratchett
    Hearing the news was a punch in the gut yesterday and it still feels unreal. I own all his Discworld books in English and in German (it took me years to collect them all), as well as several other works of his, and I was lucky enough to find two signed editions in a secondhand bookstore in London. This man has made me laugh until I cried when I was dangerously close to depression, and it is safe to say that his books and his humour and wit have shaped the way I look at the world more than anything or anyone else ever has or ever will. I will forever be grateful for that and his books will always have a special place on my bookshelf and in my heart.

     
  6. janach

    March 14, 2015 at 10:13 pm

    It was recommendations from Harry Potter fan/critics that got me reading Terry Pratchett, for which I am forever grateful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
