RSS

Just for the record…

13 Jun

J.K. Rowling is apparently receiving a lot of misogynistic abuse for a certain political opinion of hers. I’m not particularly informed about the situation in question and can’t comment on the views themselves, but I feel I need to say explicitly that this is not okay.

Goodness knows I disagree with Rowling over all sorts of things, and honestly I don’t think particularly highly of her, but that doesn’t mean she deserves to be harassed and deluged with gendered slurs. Nobody deserves that, no matter who they are, and it’s an absolute travesty that this sort of thing happens so frequently.

I’ve said a lot of very critical things about her in the past and will undoubtedly continue to in the future – I think her writing skills are incredibly overrated; her books are full of protagonist-centred morality, internalised misogyny, and all sorts of other moral unpleasantness; doubtless I could come up with quite a few other things I dislike about her given time. But it’s important to draw the distinction between criticism and harassment – I have not and will never condone the latter, and the people doing it ought to be ashamed of themselves (though sadly I doubt they will).

So on this particular issue, Ms. Rowling, I’m on your side.

Just for the record.

(h/t to Ophelia Benson, here, here, and here)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2014 in mitchell

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Just for the record…

  1. Ophelia Benson

    June 13, 2014 at 12:34 am

    Hey, same here – I too think her writing is vastly over-rated and there’s a lot wrong with Harry Potter.

    Also that women shouldn’t be called sexist names, period, no exceptions.

     
    • mcbender

      June 13, 2014 at 12:41 am

      Absolutely.

      (I’m a bit shocked to see you here honestly, I’m just a nascent small-time blogger who’s been lurking at FTB for ages and only rarely comments…)

       

Leave a Reply

 
