RSS

Point Stick, Vent Spleen? (Or: Who are we, exactly?)

05 Apr

If you’ve somehow made it here, congratulations! You’ve found our blog. I hope that’s what you were looking for. Stay awhile, and listen?

You may be excused for wondering who we are; sometimes we do the same, so I’ll forgive it this once. My name is Mitchell (I post here as mcbender); I’m a currently unemployed 25-year-old guy who spends too much time on the internet. I have a Master’s degree in electrical engineering which isn’t doing me much good, and I spend much more of my time reading and thinking about atheism, feminism, philosophy, ethics, literature and storytelling than anything else. Mostly I’m a disgruntled person who likes to get angry about things.

I’ll allow my partner to introduce herself. There’s a much better chance you know who she is than who I am.

If you’re curious about the etymology of the blog title – aside from being a pretty good first-order approximation of what we do here (“look, an awful thing! let us tell you how it makes us angry!”), it comes from a disparaging way we refer to the magic system in the Harry Potter series: “point stick, say word”. We’re probably more fixated on Harry Potter than is healthy – for fuck’s sake, we met through Harry Potter fanfiction! – even if on the whole we don’t have a very high opinion of it. We’ll get into all the reasons why eventually, I’m sure; stick around if that interests you.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2014 in introduction, mitchell

 

8 responses to “Point Stick, Vent Spleen? (Or: Who are we, exactly?)

  1. Ani J. Sharmin

    April 17, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    After commenting on your most recent post, I noticed this is a new blog, so I thought I’d say “Welcome!” Hope you have a good time writing here. Also, I love Harry Potter and am happy to find other secular/atheist fans. 🙂

     
  2. mcbender

    April 18, 2014 at 1:05 am

    “Fans” might be a bit strong – as Loten said elsewhere, we really have a sort of love-hate relationship with it. I love what the Potterverse could have been, but I’m not particularly fond of what it actually is (to put that rather mildly). Once we work out the logistics we’re going to be doing a joint re-read and analysis of the series, which should be fun 🙂

     
  3. Sofy

    December 27, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    Finally some people who are understand me! I too have a problem with Harry Potter, I seem to have a weird way with measuring things by their “potential”. Let me explain, I think the Harry Potter series have great potential, there has been quite a few very well written fan fiction, with good and original (as much as any fan fiction can be) characterisation (obviously there is also a tremendous amount of rubbish, but that is always to be expected). However the actual books are ridden with plot holes, OOC characters (which is very difficult when writing your own characters but somehow J.K Rowling manages it, or all the wizarding world is somehow bipolar) and is generally rather…washy washy….you could say. In your own words: “I love what the Potterverse could have been, but I’m not particularly fond of what it actually is.” But I digress, I’ll leave the angry ranting to both of you, who express it in a much more clear and entertaining way.

     
    • Loten

      December 28, 2014 at 9:44 am

      Welcome aboard.

       
  4. Theresa Cullen

    November 25, 2015 at 5:43 am

    It looks like I’m about a year late to this party, but it gave me an insane thrill to discover this blog! I have a love/hate relationship with HP and JKR and am surrounded by apologists, so finding others willing to even discuss these things is the stuff of, well, magic, I guess. Can’t wait to dig in!

     
    • Loten

      November 25, 2015 at 12:04 pm

      Better late than never. Hope you enjoy 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
